One Drop Dreaming

IMG_6470.JPG

I am but one,

already tired,

one tiny bent molecule

in a sea of salt water.

 

I drift with others,

ebb and flow,

too slowly moving

to really know

 

if we’re going forward

at all;

am I my own motion

or merely following

the crowd,

 

being pulled and tugged,

or worse, rocked to sleep?

Am I even awake

or is this a dream?

 

What would happen,

I wonder,

if I resisted the urge

to merely drift like this

because it’s easier.

 

I once heard

in hushed whispers

about a legendary drop

that caused a ripple

 

that created a wave

that pummeled the shore

that got the attention

of a grain of sand

who thought to itself,

 

I want to do more

 


I got lost in thought after reading this poem (below) by Will Pennington, and it inspired me to write the above poem. 

“Tattoos” by Will Pennington

4 thoughts on “One Drop Dreaming

Leave a comment