Held In The Rain

no one to lean on
nothing to grasp
cycles of free

f
a
l
l
i
n
g

while I remain
steadfast

smiling, pleasing, pulling
it off
not able to survive
if hurt feelings were ever
inadvertently my
cause 

pile it on
I’ll absorb it all 
I can carry more
problems solve

keep fighting
while I quilt
the peace
from the patches
you leave tattered 
about for me

I’ll piece it together
to keep you each
cozy, dry, free
from feeling

midnight showers
internal storms
I keep watch
drenched, lost, loss
of warmth 

cycles of free

f
a
l
l
i
n
g

suddenly cease

dimming soul 
distracted
pulled
up in another 
direction

love this time
true

heart like mine
locket match
proof

quiet fortitude
I find myself
looking up to

parallel stories
we are the same
I learn
to relinquish
a bit of the burden
parts of the pain

you vanquish
what you can 
and hold me
through the rest
those rains

the winds too strong
for umbrellas
you cover me
shelter me
mighty tree
of subtle strength

your voice
your arms
your eyes
your heart

my remedy
my end
my landing
my start 

Poem and images ©LauraDenise

One thought on “Held In The Rain

Leave a comment