Falling and Rising

Your body heat
even asleep
keeps the chill
from settling in
on the sheets
and warms my heart.
It is everything
to not have the span
of this king
to myself.
Yet, I do.
Upon your crown
I gently place
the lightest kiss
and your fingers twitch
awake to gravitate
toward me.
I meet them
half way.
You sense
behind closed lids
my loving gaze
and when your eyelashes flutter
I whisper non-secrets
to your subconscious.
I can’t imagine
growing tired
of reveling in
these simplest of moments
I spend with you
even when you
are not aware.
I finally lose sight
of my moonlit dream
as I fall reluctantly
to sleep.

“Goodnight, my love.”


 

Your body heat
even asleep
I’ve grown so accustomed to
like the sun
reaching in through the blinds
because its missed you
all night and your
soft floral scents
flutter over to greet me
and the love-seed rooted
in me
so long ago
continues to grow.
I am a prince
(because you’ve made me
believe it)
but still not worthy
of this kiss
for you are a queen,
yet somehow I wake you
from your peaceful sleep.
I brush your beauty
with my fingertips.
I am the beholder
who convinced
you that you are
all of it:
every dream I’ve ever had
in the flesh.
Your lips respond to mine
and ushers in another day
in the paradise
of us.

“Good morning, my love.”

One thought on “Falling and Rising

Leave a comment